Diet and Diabetes

Certain vegetable oil-based products may increase heart complications in diabetics, says UBC researcher Dr. Sanjoy Ghosh. Eating your vegetables is widely publicized as a way to prevent heart disease and maintain a healthy weight, but how healthy is the cooking oil derived from some of those vegetables? Dr. Sanjoy Ghosh, UBC researcher and Assistant Professor […]

Andrew Hughes winner of best presentation at INTERNATIONAL Undergraduate Research Conference in Melbourne, Australia

Read about Andrew Hughes, a Psychology Honours student doing research under the direction of Barbara Rutherford, who won best presentation in an INTERNATIONAL Undergraduate Research Conference in Melbourne, Australia in July 2010.

Barber School Teaching Excellence Recognized

Several Barber School professors were recognized at this year's Teaching Excellence and Innovation Awards held on Thursday, April 28. Award for Teaching Excellence (senior category) Joyce Boon (co-winner) Award for Teaching Excellence (junior category) Christopher Schneider Teaching Assistant and Tutor Excellence Award winners Stephen Brown Aimee Carson Caitlyn Liberto Jessica Pilfold Teaching Honour Roll winners […]

UBC Okanagan team competes in Putnam math challenge

Two of UBC Okanagan's math competition participants, from left, were Jason Luff and Lu Zhao, with Associate Professor of Mathematics Wayne Broughton.

The results are now in from the annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition. Four UBC Okanagan students participated in the all-day competition back in December -- Sheena Haines, Jason Luff, Alyosha Pushak, and Lu Zhao were among more than 3,600 undergraduate contestants from hundreds of universities and colleges in the United States and Canada. Pushak […]

Natasha Korva, winner of the Diveristy Research Award

American Psychology-Law Society Minority Affairs Congratulations to Natasha Korva, this year's winner of the Diversity Research Award! This was an extremely competitive international competition, and on behalf of CAPSL we'd like to congratulate her and thank her for representing us by being awarded such an impressive, prestigious award.