UBC professor looking at ways to help India’s poor

Current system has not succeeded, so new system is needed

Leanne ten Brinke guest on CBC's "Quirks and Quarks"

Leanne ten Brinke was a guest on CBC's  "Quirks and Quarks" March 31st 2012. Listen to her doctoral research on deception detection in high-stakes situations - public appeals for a "missing" loved one, some of whom were murdered by the person making the appeal.  

Alysha Baker, first place winner of EAPL Research Award in psychology and law (EAPL)

Congratulations to Alysha Baker, first place winner of the EAPL Research Award in the area of psychology and law (EAPL). Also note that three of our other students - Pamela Black, Natasha Korva and Aisha Bhanwer got honourable mentions in this competition. Way to represent the CAPSL!!

Canadian doctor encourages people to get involved in global events

Best-selling author part of UBC Distinguished Speaker Series

Increased lobbying not always in public interest

In the 1990s, the Mulroney government was accused of accepting kickbacks from Karlheinz Schreiber in what became known as “the airbus affair.”  More recently, former Member of Parliament, Rahim Jaffer, was found in violation of the Lobbyists’ Code of Conduct. In the U.S., President Obama talks about “closing the revolving door.” What were these incidents […]