Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

From left, Rob Johnson, Director of Athletics and Recreation at UBC Okanagan, Christopher Rigg of Capri Insurance, scholarship recipient Ashley Briker, Tim Miller of Capri Insurance, and Heather Semeniuk, Head Coach of the UBC Okanagan Heat Women's Basketball team.

Mt. Boucherie grad nets first Capri Insurance Athletics Scholarship at UBC Okanagan

Ashley Briker, a graduate of Mt. Boucherie Secondary School, has been selected as the first-ever recipient of the Capri Insurance Athletics Entrance Scholarship at UBC Okanagan. Briker will receive a $2,500 scholarship renewable for four years, funded by an endowment that Capri Insurance established in January to help top scholars who are also top athletes […]

Okanagan lawyer and community advocate Paul Mitchell.

Pushor Mitchell creates major student award at UBC Okanagan

A $10,000 annual prize, committed for 20 years, has been created by Pushor Mitchell LLP to be awarded each year to a top graduating student in the Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences at UBC Okanagan. The Pushor Mitchell LLP Gold Medal Leadership Prize will be given annually to an undergraduate  student who […]

Okanagan lawyer and community advocate Paul Mitchell.

Paul Mitchell honoured by UBC alumni for community building

Okanagan lawyer and community advocate Paul Mitchell will be presented with the Okanagan Alumni Community Builder Award on September 23, honouring his outstanding efforts in building bridges between UBC Okanagan and the greater community while making a difference locally, regionally and globally. Born and raised in Kelowna, Mitchell has had a tremendous impact in the […]

Robert Bringhurst(Photo credit: Don Hall).

UBC Okanagan to host talks by top Canadian writers

This fall, some of Canada's most outstanding poets and writers will be coming to Kelowna to read and give talks to students at UBC Okanagan. The readings begin with Robert Bringhurst and Jan Zwicky as part of the Minds and Music Series. The event is titled "Polyphony: a two-voiced poetry reading and talk." Bringhurst is […]

UBC Okanagan staff award recipients for 2009 are, from left, Roger Bizzotto, Barbara Lucente, Wendy Mohns, Leanne Bilodeau, and Bud Mortenson.

UBC Okanagan staff honoured for excellence

Five staff members at UBC Okanagan were honoured on Tuesday morning with the University's Second Annual Staff Awards of Excellence. The awards were created to recognize the extraordinary contributions of those who have gone above and beyond their job description in helping UBC Okanagan achieve its goals, says Doug Owram, Deputy Vice-Chancellor. "UBC Okanagan is […]