Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

On hand for UBC Okanagan's first Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award presentation were, from left, UBC Okanagan Deputy Vice Chancellor Doug Owram, Assoc. Vice President Learning Services Gwen Zilm, award-winner and Assoc. Prof. of Mathematics Blair Spearman, and Assoc. Vice President Academic and Research Alaa Abd-El-Aziz.

Math professor receives UBC Okanagan's first Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award

Blair Spearman, an associate professor of mathematics at UBC Okanagan, has been selected for the first-annual UBC Okanagan Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation. Gwen Zilm, Associate Vice President Learning Services, spearheaded the creation of the award, which includes a $5,000 prize, to recognize outstanding teachers at UBC Okanagan, as nominated by students, alumni and […]

Hofmann takes first prize in Okanagan short fiction contest

Karen Hofmann, an English instructor at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, has won first prize in the 2007 Okanagan Short Fiction Contest for her short story "The Canoe." Hofmann’s story won in a field of 151 entries from throughout the Southern Interior. Second prize goes to Leah Todd of Kelowna for her story “Cedarwood Apartments,” […]

From left: UBC Okanagan Deputy Vice Chancellor Doug Owram joined Sun-Rype's CEO Eric Sorensen and Board Chair Merv Geen in announcing Sun-Rype's scholarship endowment.

Sun-Rype creates $125,000 endowment for UBC Okanagan scholarships

Sun-Rype Products Ltd. has donated $125,000 to UBC Okanagan to establish the Sun-Rype Founders' Scholarship Endowment Fund. "We are extremely pleased to establish this scholarship endowment at UBC Okanagan," says Eric Sorensen, Sun-Rype's President and CEO. "Sun-Rype has been a vital part of the Okanagan for 60 years. As we celebrate this milestone, we recognize […]