Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

Lynn Coady

Lynn Coady UBC Okanagan's first writer in residence

Novelist and short story writer Lynn Coady will spend two weeks on the UBC Okanagan campus from March 1 to 15, 2008. Students of UBC Okanagan and writers in the Kelowna area are invited to have their work critiqued and to participate in a one-on-one meeting with Coady. Coady will also give a free public […]

Nobel Laureate talks science education Jan. 16 at UBC Okanagan

Carl Wieman, recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2001, will visit UBC Okanagan January 16 for a free public lecture about science education in the 21st century. “Science has advanced rapidly in the past 500 years,” Wieman says. “Guided primarily by tradition and dogma, science education meanwhile has remained largely medieval. Research into the […]

Six Future UBC Okanagan Students Selected for $5,000 Irving K. Barber B.C. Scholarships

Six second-year college students from throughout B.C.’s Southern Interior, all destined for UBC Okanagan next year, have been awarded $5,000 each from the Irving K. Barber British Columbia Scholarship Fund. "These scholarships are an investment in the skills and talents of students in B.C.," said Dr. Irving K. Barber, the philanthropist for whom the fund […]

On Friday afternoon, two scholarship recipients met the creators of their scholarships at UBC Okanagan. On hand for the occasion were Dr. Doug Owram, Deputy Vice Chancellor at UBC Okanagan, student David Carlton, Yasmin Thorpe and MLA Rick Thorpe, and student Jonathan Palmer.

Scholarships awarded to two UBC Okanagan students from South Okanagan communities

Two UBC Okanagan students from the South Okanagan have been selected for scholarships of $2,500 each from the Rick and Yasmin Thorpe and Friends “Our Students, Our Future” Entrance Scholarship. Jonathan Palmer, a graduate of Summerland Secondary School, is enrolled in the first year engineering program at UBC Okanagan. David Carlton graduated from Penticton’s Princess […]

Cultural safety on the agenda for public symposium Dec. 7

University and community researchers, health care professionals, and expert speakers from Canada, Australia and New Zealand will gather in Westbank on Dec. 7 for a major symposium examining the relatively new-to-Canada concept of cultural safety. The term "cultural safety" was first used in the 1980s in New Zealand in response to the indigenous Maori peoples’ […]

On hand for Wednesday’s CTQ Scholarship announcement at UBC Okanagan were (front) third-year engineering students Jackie Nichols and Konrad Duerr; (back row, from left) Matt Cameron, CTQ Managing Partner; Ed Grifone, CTQ Manager of Planning and Urban Design; Dr. Michael Isaacson, Dean of UBC’s Faculty of Applied Science; and Dr. Spiro Yannacopoulos, Director of UBC Okanagan’s School of Engineering.

CTQ Consultants Ltd. creates new UBC Okanagan engineering scholarships

Engineering students at UBC Okanagan will benefit directly from a new scholarship initiative created this week by CTQ Consultants Ltd., an engineering, planning and design firm with headquarters in Kelowna. CTQ Consultants is helping students pursue engineering education at UBC Okanagan with two $5,000 scholarships a year for the next three years. One scholarship will […]

Thanks to innovative technology for heating, cooling and ventilation, UBC Okanagan's Fipke Centre for Innovative Research will cost less to operate, and be healthier for students, faculty and staff.

Five Green Globes for UBC Okanagan's Fipke Centre

A wind tower for air exchange, a groundwater energy system for winter heating and summer cooling, and other innovations have earned an unprecedented five Green Globes for UBC Okanagan's newest building, the Fipke Centre for Innovative Research. "The Fipke Centre is an outstanding example of the highly sustainable and innovative designs we have pursued for […]