Okanagan short fiction contest shortlists 10 finalists

The 10th-annual Okanagan Short Story Contest has announced the shortlist for this year’s competition. Of 159 entries, the following 10 writers have made it to the final stage of the judging process:

  • Susan Buis of Kamloops
  • Jan Crerar of Salmon Arm
  • Brian d’Eon of Nelson
  • Karen Hofmann of Kamloops
  • Ashley Little of Kelowna
  • Dawn Kennedy of Vernon
  • Patrick Roscoe of Keremeos
  • Sharon Taylor of Williams Lake
  • Lorna Tureski of Armstrong
  • Shelley Wood of Kelowna

The Okanagan Short Fiction contest closed on March 10. First-prize winner will receive $500, second $200 and third $100. Winners and finalists will also receive chapbooks of the winning stories.

An awards night and public reading announcing the three winners will be held during Kelowna’s Life and Arts Festival on Saturday, May 10, says contest organizer Nancy Holmes, a creative writing professor at UBC Okanagan.

Contest sponsors are UBC Okanagan, Okanagan College, CBC Radio One, and the Central Okanagan Foundation. For more information, contact Nancy Holmes at UBC Okanagan, 250-807-9369, or visit http://www.okstorycontest.org.

-- 30 --