North Okanagan writer wins 2010 Short Fiction Contest

Chris McMahen of the Spallumcheen Valley has won the 2010 Okanagan Short Fiction Contest.

McMahen, a teacher-librarian in an elementary school in Armstrong, is well-acquainted with the contest, as he has placed in the short list for the contest more than once in past years. McMahen won $500 for his story The Post.

Gord Grisenthwaite of Kelowna took home the $200 second prize (his second time as a finalist in the contest), and third prize of $100 went to Tobey Burbidge of Kelowna.

These three stories were chosen from nearly 150 entries. The winning stories were featured at a ceremony last week hosted by the judge, Laisha Rosnau, UBC Okanagan's 2010 Writer in Residence.

Contest sponsors are UBC Okanagan, Okanagan College, CBC Radio One, and the Central Okanagan Foundation.

For more information, contact Michael V. Smith at UBC Okanagan, 250-807-9706, or visit

-- 30 --