School of Social Work: What’s new for 2013-2014

August 23, 2013

Carole Robinson, Jan Cioe and Edward Taylor

Associate Professor of Nursing Carole Robinson, Head of Psychology Department Jan Cioe and Director of School of Social Work Edward Taylor in the new Interprofessional Clinic at UBC’s Okanagan campus.

Master of Social Work program enrolls 50 students

New Programs

The School of Social Work’s Master of Social Work (MSW) program enrolled 50 new students for the 2013-14 academic year. Approximately 40 per cent of the total applicants were accepted into the MSW graduate program. The last BSW class will graduate this coming spring.

Faculty Research

Assoc. Prof. Shirley Chau has initiated her funded project focused on the studying interventions to enhance cultural competence of service systems and reduce health inequities.

Assoc. Prof. Rachelle Hole has continued her funded work in Establishing Cultural Safety and Effecting Organizational Change for Aboriginal Healthcare

Assoc. Prof. Judy Gillespie received funding for partnering to promote understanding of community capacity building to address Aboriginal child welfare

Prof. Susan Wells won support for evaluating a Westbank First Nation’s Community Actions Initiative Training program for workers serving Aboriginal people with concurrent disorders.

Assoc. Prof. Edward Taylor received funding for studying interventions and community support for youth with aggressive behavior and impulse control problems.

Interdisciplinary Collaboration

Assoc. Prof. Rachelle Hole is the co-director for The Centre for Inclusion and Citizenship. The Centre is now housed on UBC’s Okanagan Campus in the Arts building.

Prof. Susan Wells is Director of the Centre for the Study of Services to Children and Families. The Centre is shared within the School of Social Work and the Department of Psychology. It is the first Canadian Foundation for Innovation funded centre within the School of Social Work.

The Interprofessional Clinic shared by Social Work, Nursing, and Psychology is now open and seeing a limited number of children and adolescents from the Okanagan community.

Assoc. Prof. Dixon Sookraj chairs the Canadian Schools of Social Work’s International Committee, and has presented at the United Nations.

Assoc. Prof. Susan Hillock published two teaching videos that are available to educators on the web.

Student field placement and research opportunities are being provided by the School of Social Work’s two centres and clinic.


Shirley Chau received tenure and a promotion to Associate Professor.


School of Social Work
The University of British Columbia
3333 University Way
Kelowna, BC  V1V 1V7

Office: ART 360
Phone: (250) 807-8738

Media Contact

Patty Wellborn
Media Relations Strategist
University Relations

UBC Okanagan
Tel: 250 317 0293

More content from: College of Graduate Studies, School of Social Work