Career achievement award for UBC Okanagan School of Engineering's dean Michael Isaacson

Dr. Michael Isaacson, a founder of UBC Okanagan's School of Engineering and Dean of UBC's Faculty of Applied Science, has received the BC Innovation Council 2007 Chairman's Award for Career Achievement.

Isaacson is recognized around the world as a leader in the field of offshore and coastal hydrodynamics research. The BC Innovation Council honoured Isaacson with the achievement award "for his continued contributions to the advancement of British Columbia's scientific and engineering communities."

"I am particularly proud of this award because it highlights something I am passionate about -- the critical importance of the engineering profession for British Columbia in enhancing our economic prosperity and quality of life," says Isaacson. "These enhancements arise both through engineering research and development and through engineering education leading to graduates entering and working in the profession."

As dean of UBC's only dual-campus faculty -- with engineering programs at both Okanagan and Vancouver campuses -- Isaacson leads the UBC Okanagan School of Engineering, and a diversity of schools and departments at UBC. The Faculty of Applied Science is unique in B.C. for providing engineering programs and research across the full range of engineering disciplines.

Throughout his 30-year career, Dr. Isaacson has been active in teaching, research, university administration and professional service. He has authored over 200 technical papers and co-authored two textbooks, including Mechanics of Wave Forces on Offshore Structures, one of the most widely referenced and definitive works in the field. He has been a specialist consultant on over 100 engineering projects, and is one of the most cited experts on the topic of wave forces on coastal and offshore structures.

In 2006, Isaacson, together with former UBC Okanagan Deputy Vice Chancellor Barry McBride, Urban Systems Managing Partner Dick Fletcher, and UBC Faculty of Applied Science Dean Emeritus Martin Wedepohl, received special recognition by the Okanagan Science and Technology Council for their leadership and collaboration in establishing UBC Okanagan's School of Engineering. The school currently has over 240 students enrolled and a faculty complement of 21, and is expanding rapidly to meet increasing demand.

Isaacson's achievements are currently being featured on the Knowledge Network:

-- 30 --