UBC professors highlight significance of Nobel Prize winners

Nobel Night 2016

What: Nobel Night panel discussion
Who: UBC Okanagan researchers discuss this year’s Nobel Prize winners
When: Thursday, December 8 beginning at 7 p.m., refreshments to follow
Where: Fipke Centre for Innovative Research, lecture theatre FIP204,

Bob Dylan, machines the size of molecules, optimal contracts and civil unrest in Colombia. While these topics may seem to have nothing in common, they are bought together by Alfred Nobel’s prestigious annual prize. Six Nobel Prizes will be the topic of conversation at UBC Okanagan’s fourth annual Nobel Night.

Nobel Night is a tradition at UBC’s Okanagan campus, a chance for professors to discuss the significance of this year’s Nobel Prize recipients—some of the world’s most outstanding contributors in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace—including Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos and singer-song writer Bob Dylan.

Following the presentation, there will be an opportunity to ask questions. This event is free and open to public. Pay parking is available on campus. While the event is free, donations to the United Way are gratefully accepted. To register or find out more, visit: nobelnight2016.eventbrite.ca


Alfred Nobel willed his remaining estate be endowed “to prizes to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind.” Each year since 1901 laureates are named for their winning contributions in one of the prize categories including medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace. Prizes are awarded December 10 in Stockholm and Oslo concurrently.

UBC researchers speaking about the Nobel laureates are as follows:

  • Event Emcee—Assoc. Professor Jennifer Jakobi , School of Health and Exercise Sciences, Faculty of Health and Social Development
  • The Nobel Prize in Physics—Senior Instructor Ray Taheri, School of Engineering
  • The Nobel Prize in Chemistry— Assist. Professor Isaac Li, Chemistry, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
  • The Nobel Prize in Medicine—Assoc. Professor Bruce Mathieson, Biology, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
  • The Nobel Prize in Literature—Assoc. Professor Oliver Lovesey, English, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies
  • The Nobel Peace Prize—Assoc. Professor Jessica Stites Mor, History, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
  • The Sveriges Riksmbank Prize in Economic Sciences—Assist. Professor Ross Hickey, Economics, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences